La Casa Gelato

I had a day off last week and made the most of it for sure!  In between Christmas shopping and getting things done on my “to do” list, I had lots of little snacks and food throughout the day.

I was in the restaurant supply district (Hastings between Clark and Commercial) when I realized I was near La Casa Gelato – the bright pink building that had first caught my eye a year ago when I first moved to Vancouver.

I parked the car, walked in, and was floored by the huge counter full of, as promised in their signs outside, 218 flavours of gelato and sorbetto.

This is only half the counter!

I gawked at some flavours which were just too crazy for me to try (Curry? Wild Chanterelle Mushroom?) but did want something a bit out of the ordinary…

I doubled up my order, paying $6.75 by debit (convenient!) at the waffle cone counter.  I was given my poker chip token and then walked all the way around the coolers with the nice older lady who helped me.  I choose fig and chocolate chip, and pear and gorgonzola blue cheese (honest!)

The result – pretty crazy!  Both gelato tasted exactly as described, but the pear and gorgonzola one was especially enjoyable.  I was grinning from ear to ear with this incredible, unorthodox, desert.

Pear & blue cheese (top), fig & chocolate (bottom)

Sure, the quality of the gelato isn’t the finest I’ve ever had, but, I loved trying something so new and so different.  This is the kind of place I’d love to bring visitors to, just to blow their minds a bit :)  I’m also intrigued by some of the other flavours I saw (Vietnamese basil anyone?)

La Casa Gelato on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Desserts, Food, Food styles, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

