Eating India

Just finished Eating India by Chitrita Banerji.  It often reminded me of The Simpsons episode where Homer becomes a restaurant critic: Everything is delicious!  Everything is the best!  It really made me hungry on several occasions.  I appreciated the map provided in the first pages of the book (a glossary to keep track of unique ingredients and cooking styles would have been welcome too).  Banerji’s personal history and sometimes-crises of faith were surprisingly well tied in with her travel and food adventures.   I would be quite curious to see a cookbook that she’s written – glossy colour pictures would be even more tempting than the written word.

And while I got my copy out of the Vancouver Public Library, I ended up buying a copy for my good friend back in Edmonton.  I hope it brings her fond memories of her trip to India and a taste for visiting more exotic locations.

This entry was posted in Books, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

