Super simple chicken awesomeness!

With Elaine away, I thought that I would make some recipe-less chicken for dinner.  I was so happy with it that I’ve now written down my recipe, so here it is:

Roast Chicken with Tomatoes, Onions and Pepper

Roast Chicken with Tomatoes, Onions and Pepper

  • 2 bone-in, skin-on chicken breasts
  • 1 medium-large sweet onion sliced thin
  • 2 tbsp vegetable oil
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 3 cloves garlic, diced
  • 4 smallish (e.g. on the vine) tomatoes, chopped
  • 1 sweet yellow pepper, sliced into strips

Heat a 10″ cast iron pan over medium-high, then add oil and butter.  Add onions and reduce heat to medium-low and stir occasionally until the onions are soft and lightly caramelized.  Add garlic and stir for 30 seconds, then stir in tomatoes and let cook until they just start to break down.  Pour out the ragout (I think that this is a ragout!),  wipe out the pan, and heat over medium-high again.  Heat oven to 300F.  Add some more oil to the pan and bring it to temperature.  Toss in the yellow pepper and brown the chicken breasts on all sides, beginning with the skin-side.  Place both bone-side down, then pour the ragout all around and in between them.  Put the whole thing in the oven and cook until the inside of the chicken breasts has reached 165.  Let it rest for a few minutes, then serve with some green beans (best if pan fried in garlic!) and Italian bread with butter.

Serves 2

Next time that I make this (and I definitely will make this again), I will brown the chicken first so that the rest of the veggies will cook in the fond.  I still think that I would cook the peppers with the chicken, though.

This entry was posted in Cooking. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

