More reading…

Finished two other food-related books recently (amazing how much one can read while laid up in bed all day with a cold):

David Lebovitz’s Sweet Life in Paris was a very quick read, very enjoyable and full of drool-worthy recipes (dulce de leche brownies – OMG!), but didn’t inspire me to move to Paris, or even consider a trip there if I won a McDonald’s monopoly cash prize.  I hope my mom enjoys the copy I bought for her; I still (heart) Lebovitz because of his amazing ice cream cookbook Perfect Scoop.

I also read Stealing Buddhas Dinner by Bich Nguyen, and while the refugee/immigrant story is a harrowing tale (better told than in many other books I read in the past), the anomie and the constant longing for some intangible thing made for the most depressing tone.  I can’t explain why someone would classify this under the “cookery” section; it was more of a psychological purging, but without the objective perspective most take when revisiting their childhood issues.  Not a book I’d recommend.

Currently reading a much lighter tome: The Sharper Your Knife the Less You Cry by Kathleen Flinn… another cooking school adventure (this time at the Cordon Bleu in Paris).

I think I’ll need a break from foodie books after this one.  Have picked up The Wild Trees by Richard Preston again on an offhand recommendation from my cousin’s spouse. I had started it a few months ago, but didn’t have time to move through it quickly enough; I think it might be a good palate-cleanser type book between food-related ones!

This entry was posted in Books. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

