JAPADOG!

I was so excited to be in the same town as the iconic hot dog stand when I first moved here about 6 months ago… and, then life took over, and I didn’t get to try the famed Japadog until about a week ago!

I braved the drizzly rain, and stood for about 15 minutes at the corner of Burrard and Smithe.  I pondered my choices while trying not to get poked in the eye by the Sutton Place loaner umbrella that the person in front of me was holding.

So I felt that I should go with their top-rated dog, the Korubata Terimayo.  At nearly $7 (the sausage upgrade added $2), I omitted the sides.  I handed my money over Japanese-style: putting it onto the counter with the bill on the bottom and coins nicely placed on top.  No hand-touching!

It includes, a korubata sausage (made with Berkshire pork), teriyaki sauce, Japanese kewpie mayo, a small amount of grilled onions (that were sweet, not pungent), and nori bits.  It took about 10 more minutes between ordering and the hot dog being ready.

Here's the bad boy now!

So, I found a bit of cover at the wine shop nearby and took a picture before digging in.  I have to say, it was delicious.  The pork sausage was juicy and well seasoned but not fatty, and the toppings were very well balanced: sweet, savoury, rich and salty.   I wouldn’t have minded even more nori, or a bit more toasty bun, but it was just great.  Had the wait not been nearly 30 minutes, I would have gladly lined up for Round #2!

Japadog (Burrard & Smithe) on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Fast Food, Food, Japanese, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to JAPADOG!

  1. Pingback: Paying taxes has never been so sweet – Japadog + Cupcakes « parkerpages

  2. Pingback: Japadog – Oroshi « parkerpages

Leave a Reply

