Kimchi Soup

A result of the Making Kimchi series (part 1, 2, and 3), I finally had the raw ingredient to make what I often crave when I start getting a cold: Kimchi Soup!

I first learned about Kimchi Soup from my good friend who spent a year (I think) in Korea.  She came to visit us in Edmonton with her sister (who also taught English in Korea) and ordered this at a restaurant.  I just about died and went to heaven it was so good.  Spicy, warming, and filled with great textures, I also enjoyed that you ate this between spoonfuls of rice – so good!

Again; I followed Maangchi’s instructions and used the following ingredients in my version:

In a large pot, put kimchi, pork and chicken broth (about 4 cups/1 L) and bring to a simmer.

5 cups kimchi

1 large piece of pork butt steak, cut into small strips

Cook for about 15 minutes, until the pork is fully cooked and the soup is well developed (e.g. kimchi “sauce” has blended well with the broth.  Then add:

1 container of medium-firm tofu - cut into cubes

1 "handful" of rick cake slices

Cook until the rice cakes have soften to noodle-like consistency.  Stir carefully to avoid breaking up the tofu.

EXTREME CLOSE UP: rice cake turns opaque when ready

Serve with rice, in this case use short-grain or “calrose” rice as the slightly sticky texture will be nice to spoon and dip into the broth.

We love our Zojirushi!

Serve rice on the side, sprinkled with sesame seeds for extra texture.

Note that this does reheat okay, but the rice cakes will disintegrate.  Either throw them out before cooling, or add more when reheating.

This entry was posted in Cooking, Food. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment