The Loofah Diaries – part 1

I realize that we have moved away from the original theme of this blog what with all the restaurant reviews and food-obsession – and having just finished this excellent book about doing things yourself, I felt a need to get back into simpler things.

And to start, I’ve decided to grow loofah plants!  Honestly, I have no idea how I came across this, but here is an excellent step-by-step guide on loofah growing.

I honestly thought these things grew in the ocean!  I had no idea they were a zucchini-like thing!

First step – track down seeds. Gardenworks was a place I wanted to visit anyways, but  I called ahead to confirm they carried these seeds.  Indeed they did, so here is the pack!

I didn't know if these would be under the flower or veggie area!

Second step, after reading the package, is to soak the seeds in some warm water for 24 hours.

About the size of pumpkin seeds, but flatter & black

This is apparently a long process from seed to “sponge” so hang in there with me.  Hopefully in about 6 months, I’ll have a home-grown, super eco-friendly bath scrubby!

This entry was posted in Books, DIY, Miscellany. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Loofah Diaries – part 1

  1. KimHo says:

    (Food blogging) Resistance is futile! 🙂

  2. Pingback: The Loofah Diaries – part 2 « parkerpages

  3. Pingback: Loofah Diaries – Part 3 « parkerpages

Leave a Reply

