House of Dosas

During my parents’ visit in town I thought it would be fun to show them some more specific kind of “ethnic” food.  See, in Ottawa where I grew up, there’s Chinese, Indian, Vietnamese restaurants, etc. but nothing more specific – for instance, while there are Japanese restaurants, there’s no robata place specifically.  So to provide them with a unique Indian restaurant experience, I decided to bring them to House of Dosas.

At Knight & Kingsway

It was around 2 PM, so while we avoided the lunch crowd, I was surprised that it was still pretty busy.  I guess knowing that the place is open 24-hours makes people feel confident that a 2 PM late lunch will be just as feasible as a 2 AM post-bar snack.

We were seated at a big table near the Kingsway-facing windows, and were given menus very quickly.  Despite some of the comments I’ve read elsewhere, I found service to be prompt and very polite.

We each chose a different dosa, but of course they all look the same!  One picture should suffice I think 😉  For the uninitiated: a dosa is a big crepe made of fermented lentil/chickpea flour.  It contains a curry or stew-like filling (worry not – it’s not stuffed from end-to-end!) and is served with a sauce that is very much like pepperwater soup.

Dosa!

My mom enjoyed the quite spicy lamb vindaloo ($9.99).  It was nice that the lamb was all meat – no bones or other “things” that you sometimes get in buffet places.  I can’t for the life of me remember what my dad ordered, but he was pleased with his choice.  I chose the Palak Paneer Alu Dosa ($8.99) which was a mix of creamed spinach, potatoes and paneer cheese.  It was very good though not particularly salty (but I love salty food).  I was surprised by how hearty this veggie option was, and how well proportioned the dosa was to the filing.

Of the sauces presented, I liked the sambal/soup-like sauce the best.  The coconut chutney was okay, and I found that the carrot/tomato chutney was rather bland… It was really the grated-veg texture of these two chutneys that I didn’t like.  I’m still not 100% clear on my culinary Indian geography, but I’d have loved some cilantro-mint chutney to go with this.

After I paid (they take debit for sure, probably credit cards too), I walked out but was soon chased down by our waiter.  He noticed that I left my umbrella behind and ran half a block to give it back to me.  That was really nice of him and definitely topped the very good service we got throughout the meal.

We’ll be back – either for a solid odd-time meal, or for their Monday “Vancouver Dosa Day” specials.

House of Dosas on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Food, Indian, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to House of Dosas

  1. Pingback: Tops | parkerpages

Leave a Reply

