Red Burrito (Commercial Drive)

I think we’ve established that I generally am a fan of burritos – so, here’s another post!  Red Burrito is a local chain which provides a very small menu of options but seems to have done very well business-wise in the GVRD.

Red Burrito at 1st Avenue and Commercial Drive

Neither location I’ve visited is particularly big, but there are a few tables and chairs where you can eat inside.  This most recent visit was during lunch, and the lineup was kind of crazy, so I took my food to go.

I ordered a spicy beef burrito on whole wheat ($5.95), with pretty much all the free toppings (no onions or corn), and upgrading it with cheese for $1 more.  I saw trouble as the server behind the counter struggled to wrap the burrito tightly…

Yes folks, that is a big tear in the burrito fabric… I’m a mess in the best of times, and now, with a leaky burrito, I was a stained disaster. 😦

EXTREME CLOSEUP - Spicy Beef Burrito

As for the burrito itself, despite being leaky, it was great.  The beef is super tender and really heavily seasoned (in a good way), the rice and beans both have upheld their texture, the addition of cilantro and lime adds a lot of brightness to the wrap, and the lettuce and fresh tomato salsa add crunch.  This was the first time I asked for cheese on my burrito, skeptical of adding on costs, but you really taste the feta-like queso fresco amongst all the other ingredients.

This huge lunch was under $10, so while not quite as cheap as other places, it kept me full until way past supper time.

Red Burrito (Commerical) on Urbanspoon



This entry was posted in Fast Food, Food, Food styles, Mexican/Latin/South American, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Red Burrito (Commercial Drive)

  1. Meli says:

    Why did you change the banner at the top of your website. I loved seeing you, your husband and your dog!

    • Elaine says:

      I suppose this site became more and more about food, and definitely less about “adventures in living simply” 🙂

Leave a Reply

