Gyudonya

Working in reverse-chronological order from my Sunday afternoon downtown – before going out for Bella Gelateria I had previously had some lunch at Gyudonya at the corner of Robson & Richards.

Coincidentally similar to Yoshinoya?

The place had opened several months ago, but I just didn’t have the opportunity to try it – but now I was on my own, and hungry!

Basic items on menu board

Upon entering, I was greeted by the server behind the counter/cash area.  I assumed that it was like any other take-out place where you ordered first, paid, then got food… Apparently not! When I said I was going to eat inside the restaurant, she gestured me to the bar or the long table along the windows and brought me a menu.  I didn’t spend much time looking at it since I wanted to try the basic beef bowl, but I appreciated the extra service.

Small Beef Bowl ($4.95)

Moments later, here was my order of the Small Beef Bowl.  Yup, it was pretty much just very thin strips of beef, with a bit of onion, on rice.  The red strips in the side bowl are pieces of very “hot” pickled ginger.  The first thing I noticed about the beef itself was how fatty it was – in a good way!  It was almost like beef bacon!  Needless to say it was very tender and moist, but with just a little grilled texture from the teppan-style grill.  I liked the super soft almost caramelized onions too, and the marinade (of sweet soy) that they were cooked in.  The only thing that threw me off a little was the texture of the rice.  It was quite dry, and not “sticky” at all.  I was surprised since I’m so used to Japanese short-grain rice (and no, I’m not getting it confused with sushi rice).  I almost felt like the dish would have been better with that kind of rice – not that it wasn’t good otherwise.  Anyhow, at under $5 for my meal (which, actually was cheaper than my gelato later!), it was filling, and well prepared.

Cut-out art in window

Oh, and I had to take a picture of the cut-out art in the window – this beautiful, simple design reminds me of the paper puppet scene in King of Masks (best, most saddest movie ever!)

Gyudon Ya on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Food, Food styles, Japanese, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

