The Winking Judge Pub

I had some not-so-enjoyable business to do downtown yesterday for work, but as one plus, work ended up paying for my lunch.

In a semi-related turn of events, we ended up at The Winking Judge Pub on Burrard and Smithe.  The long and narrow dining room was a bit hard to navigate, but our group of three was able to find a quieter table to sit and chat at.

Inside The Winking Judge

The waitress was there quite quickly and got us some waters and menus.  We didn’t have much time, but I thought that a more substantial meal than just a burger or salad would be nice.

My friend – let’s call him “Captain Planet” – and I both ordered the Bangers and Mash.

Bangers & Mash ($12.95)

Served in a shallow bowl-plate (“blate”? “powl”?) the ground pork sausages were strangely positioned like rays of a sun sticking out from the large portion of mashed yukon gold potatoes.  Also, those sausages are kind of little – they were just slightly hidden by the mash.  Nevermind the appearance, the sausages themselves were quite good, with a nicely browned exterior, good “snap” from natural casing, and a slightly coarser ground texture that wasn’t too fatty which made me think these were probably made specifically for the restaurant.  The gravy was really good, plentiful with lots of soft-cooked onions.  The mashed potatoes were very tasty too, but super dense from the large quantity of cream and butter in them that gave them a silky texture.  I’m not easily outdone by a carb, but I had enough about halfway through this plateful (luckily Captain Planet gave the rest of my dish a good home).

My other friend – Ms. G – ordered the Margherita Pizza.  While I didn’t take a picture of it – I should have.  It was strangely square (!), but the crust looked extremely crispy as it should for this kind of pizza.  The only other thing I noticed about it was that there was quite a bit of sauce, causing the toppings to slide off way too easily.  At $8.95, I’d say it was a fair price for the dish.

One more thing I should note about The Winking Judge was that I swear I saw that certain dishes on the menu were labeled with a sort of double cross symbol – I think I saw on the bottom of the menu that this represented a “2 for 1 special before 5 PM”.  If this was the case, then we definitely didn’t get one of the two bangers & mash dishes for free…  I wish I had reviewed this better, but unfortunately I was pretty preoccupied.  Anyways, since we didn’t order any drinks or appetizers, I think the overall cost of the lunch wasn’t bad.

Deal or no deal?

The Winking Judge Pub on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Food, Food styles, Pub, Restaurants. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

